These are official diplomas, delivered by the French Ministry of National Education, that certify the French abilities of international candidates.
The six diplomas are standardised in accordance with the Common European Framework of Reference for Languages (CEFR).
At each level, five language activities are evaluated: oral comprehension and production in continuous and interactive contexts, written comprehension and production.

Candidates can enrol for the exam of their choice, according to their level:

  • Diploma in French Language Studies (DELF)

Levels A1, A2, B1, and B2

  • Advanced Certificate in French Language (DALF)

Levels C1 and C2

The CUEF organises two sessions per year (May and December).
Consult the exam calendar to find out the dates of sessions organised by the CUEF (see below “Download”).
Published on  June 16, 2017
Updated on July 27, 2023